Garden Bloom Day – June 15, 2011

I had family visiting this week, so I’ve missed Wordless Wednesday and I’m a day late with my Garden Bloom Day photos!

Lots of things are blooming in the yard right now, especially on the west side of the yard in the border along the garage wall.  That area receives the most sun and the plants there seem happy.

Things are moving along on the east side of the yard in the border along the fence, but it’s shadier there so some things are slow to grow and bloom.  This our first June in the new apartment / yard, so it’s interesting to look around and see where things are NOT happening.  I’ll need to think about what things I can add to that East side fence line under the Privet trees for next year.  It would be nice to have SOMETHING blooming there in June, and right now there is nothing.

On to the things that ARE blooming!

This is Astilbe, ‘Peach Blossom’ – in the shade garden along the side of the house.  I’m not sure if it’s a shorter variety of Astilbe or if it’s just small because this is its first year…or maybe it’s too much shade?  Right now the plant is about 2′ tall.

the lavender plant I put in last fall has really filled out this year and is spreading out. It’s been in various stages of blooming for nearly 6 weeks now, and it smells terrific.
here’s a close up
This is Lilium, ‘Blackout’ I was expecting it to be a much darker maroon – nearly black according to the photo on Easy To Grow Bulbs, where I ordered it, however I am absolutely in LOVE with this color and I’m very happy with this Lily! I bought 3 bulbs and planted them in 3 different areas of the yard, so their blooming will be a little staggered – perfect. You’ll have to bear with me posting several pictures of this beauty – I’m a little over the moon about it!

If this Lily multiplies over the years you might hear my squeals of delight from miles away.
Day Lilies are also blooming. These came with the property. Earlier this spring I dug some up and transplanted them around to various parts of the yard.
I’m not usually a fan of the color orange, but these are just delightful.
Not the best shot, but this is the border along the garage wall. The sunniest spot in the yard, this border also benefits from being so close to the wall for protection from wind and a little extra heat off the building.  Everything is starting to get a bit more shade now as the fig trees are filling out…hopefully it won’t be too much shade a month or two from now!
This border includes: sweet basil, parsley, cilantro, bay leaves, Thai basil, lemon verbena, a 3-foot tall young lilac, foam flower, lavender, a “mystery” tomato, heliotrope, violets, lambs ears, Dusty Miller, a climbing rose, cosmos, day lilies, the Asiatic ‘Blackout’ lily, and a few weeds. 😉 Plus some begonias back on the steps in the shade.

Not yet blooming, but the Annabelle hydrangea is really filling out…
Since this is our first Spring/Summer in the yard, I thought it would help me to have an idea of how large this baby gets, how quickly it grows/spreads, etc. When we moved here at the end of last summer this hydrangea was about 4 feet tall and nearly as wide and was blooming its socks off. I divided it in the fall and gave a large division to my friend Bev in PA, where it seems to be doing well. Clearly, this hydrangea didn’t mind being divided one bit. In fact, I think it might be happier.

I’m not so sure the tree peony that I planted next to it this Spring is as happy and I hope it won’t end up getting crowded out by this enormous hydrangea!  You can just see the tip of the tree peony in the left side of the photo.

That potted plant on our portable makeshift “backyard coffee table” (a wooden half barrel with a granite slab on top) is a “mystery” clematis that came as a surprise gift from my friend Bev over the weekend, and I am SO excited.  We think it may be Autumn Clematis.  Whatever it is, it is most welcome here.  Clematis is one of my all-time favorite flowers.  Hopefully this time next year – or who knows, maybe even this fall! – I’ll be posting photos of IT blooming.

10 thoughts on “Garden Bloom Day – June 15, 2011

  1. Loving the wonder around your garden, so pretty and tranquil! Your Hydrangea is beautiful and so perfectly green, wish mine was looking that healthy, leaves are curling, not blooming, yellowing…ahh and the probs go on! Still trying to figure out this organic thing =?

    • Hi Julia! Yeah, I really lucked out with that hydrangea…I have no idea how old it is or how long it’s been there, but it sure seems happy. I’d like to add a few different varieties over time. What kind of hydrangea do you have? I’ll have to head over to Polka Dot Galoshes and check it out!

  2. My established Astilbe’s max out at 2 feet tall, so yours would be fine unless it was supposed to be an extra tall variety. They are very sensitive to drought. Foliage will scorch at the edges or even go all brown on me if I don’t watch their water levels. I moved a large patch out of the too-sunny front yard in April. It’s in the foundation area near the back door and hose hook up so I am sure I can keep it hydrated.

    Your lavender looks different from mine. I am growing ‘Munstead’. I have white stones beneath not only for added heat, but also to reflect more light back into the center of the branches and reduce interior die-back (which often results from lack of light in the center.) This is more noticeable when the shrubby growth is older and more dense. I tried ‘white ice’ lavender seedlings this spring and got NONE for my efforts. Time to try again. It was probably too cool for them.

    The Brooklyn Hydrangea relocated to PA is indeed thriving. Foliage looks robust and happy.

    My privet hedge in full sun will be blooming soon. I love its fragrance but it takes a lot of maintenance and pruning. Did you see any buds on yours? Look for white panicles at the branch tips (previous season’s wood). They are highly perfumed.

    Love these photos!

    • Thanks, Bev – good to know about the Astilbe. That area is pretty shaded and so doesn’t dry out as often as the backyard does, but it helps to know that it doesn’t like drought.

      I don’t know what kind of lavender this is, of course. Some of the plants I’ve purchased at sales don’t have complete ID tags. I’m pretty sure this one was just labeled “lavender” at the farmer’s market last fall!

      Bummer that your other lavender seedlings didn’t make it! I’m glad to hear that the Brooklyn Hydrangea is doing well, though!

      One of our privets bloomed last week, and a few others are close behind it. We didn’t get to see this part last year, so it came as a lovely surprise. I’ll take it!

  3. So lovely! Your astilbe is right where it should be, and it does love shade, so it’s not being stunted by the lack of bright sunlight. I love that particular astilbe. We have it in our all white shade garden but it’s not blooming yet.

  4. Pingback: Peonies and tree peony « Community Acupuncturist : Making Health Affordable

Leave a Reply

