What’s the Story, Morning Glory?

Hmmm…the Morning Glory seedling I brought home looked nice and healthy. I planted it in good soil with some added compost and it got plenty of rain these past two weeks. The site has good drainage and a fence to climb. The other things planted in that same area – Thunbergia (Black-Eyed Susan vine), Cupani Sweet Peas, and Vinca – are all doing quite well.

What’s the story, Morning Glory? Not happy? Being eaten? What can I do to save you?

Here’s the sorry state of this sad little plant, which now has holes in the leaves and looks a bit tattered and torn:

I hope it makes it. We’re really hoping to have some climbing color on that fence this summer!

12 thoughts on “What’s the Story, Morning Glory?

  1. That could be slug damage, nocturnal chewing.

    With a flashlight,and wearing plastic gloves, I collect slugs in a small bowl of heavily salted water. Kills them immediately. The slime is the worst, but when they are devouring one’s seedlings or lettuce crop, slime must be overlooked.

    Right now, freshly hatched slugs are quite small. Their parents, if they overwintered successfully, are larger. I have two kinds, black with yellow bottoms and pale pink.

    It could be something else chewing at night. Take a flashlight outside and have a look, around 10pm or so….

    A less “icky” slug strategy is to lay a flat board nearby, something enticing for them to spend the hot days hiding under, then lift it up and dispatch them using the method of your choice. Less searching and direct handling, but still an effective reduction of population. You can crush them with a rock, snip them in two with pruners, step on them, stab them with a twig or anything else you can think of.

    Some people sprinkle eggshells nearby, deterring soft bodied slugs with sharp edges. Copper is a barrier because it causes an electrical reaction with slug slime, turning them back.

    There is a recipe using yeast or old beer in a partially sunken bowl for a lure, then slugs drown after getting into the liquid. I don’t have the yeast recipe on hand, but I just saw it in a magazine somewhere. I don’t employ this liquid method because Jasmine would tear it up.

    Slugs are always worse in wet weather.

    • Thanks, Bev! Slugs, huh? I’ll be out there tonight to investigate.

      Last year my friend’s dog was having a problem EATING slugs (ewww)…and then, even worse, chucking them back up. What could be grosser than that?

      I suggested she sink a couple of dishes of beer in at ground level and dump them every day. Sure enough, a couple of cans of Budweiser attracted every slug in town and fortunately Danny the greyhound stayed away from the beer.

      Maybe I’ll give that a try today and the old board trick…can’t hurt!

  2. Good grief Aimee, that dog/slug story. Don’t you just wonder what are dogs thinking when they do those things?
    I have a terrible time killing slugs. I usually just fling them over the fence into the pasture– sort like a ride at the fair for the slug I suppose.

    • Hi! Thanks for visiting! I love your blog and your gorgeous photos!

      Glad to hear I’m not the only one who has a tough time killing slugs…(or anything except mosquitoes, actually!)

      The few that I’ve run across this year have been flung into the woodpile / earthy area where we keep our trash cans stowed.

      If dispatching them is necessary, I feel drowning in beer is at least a little less horrific of a way to go – for me and, I hope, for them. =(

  3. I use sand to keep slugs away from their chosen plants, they don’t like the grity surface it scraches them, I put a mulch of sand around the base of the plant, no way I could kill or touch them, if I find one when I am gardening I use the trowel to put it where the birds find it, can’t waste good food, I am lucky though as I have Thrushes in my garden and they dine on slugs 🙂

    I hope your morning glory survives I’ve seen them on other peoples blogs they look beautiful,
    so pleased I didn’t read this early before breakfast but chose to leave the new blog posts until later 😉
    Frances

    • Frances – what a great idea! Thanks so much. I actually don’t mind touching them, but I don’ t like to have to kill them. I also want my morning glory (and my hosta – they’re onto it now too!) to grow!

      I’ve been putting saucers of beer out the last few nights (and have caught many this way, poor things) but I happen to have some sand and so will try that trick next. I suppose it will have to be re-applied after it rains, but hey – if it works, it’s worth it!

      How lucky you are that your thrushes eat slugs! Can you send some of them over our way? 😉

      • Aimee I put a few sheets of news paper down then the sand on top making sure it is up to the edges of the plant and it doesn’t wash away with rain, we’ve had enough this last month to wash most things away but the sand is still there, Frances

  4. this might be a mixed blessing, believe it or not. i planted morning glory years ago, and pulled it out, but it keeps popping up everywhere! it’s pretty tenacious stuff, so i bet it stages a comeback!

Leave a Reply

