The Last of the Crocuses

Last fall I planted my first crocus bulbs ever:

“Jeanne D’arc” from White Flower Farm.

We saw our first bloom on March 11th this year, and Jeanne D’arc was an excellent bloomer, lasting nearly a month with big, beautiful white flowers with very subtle lavender stripes down the center of each petal and an orange center.

I was really pleased with them – they put on a great show, and I’ll definitely get more next year…maybe combine them with some purple crocuses too.

I also really liked their striped leaves.  Sadly, they are just about done, now…in the back yard anyway – the ones in the front tree pits haven’t even opened up yet!  (We get a lot more sun in the back and the yard is much more sheltered.)

Just as the crocuses have phased out, the muscari (miniature grape hyacinths) are coming into bloom.  I had hoped that they would bloom together, but no such luck.  Oh well!  It’s kind of nice to have something stepping up ready to replace the crocuses.

I’ll have to take some photos of the muscari – they are really lovely, but I realize now that next time around I’d like to plant more of them together in a bunch.  I have them spread out a little too much throughout the yard and I think they will have more impact grouped together so that we can really see a splash of that gorgeous blue-purple.

The snow drops didn’t do as well as I’d hoped.  I’d say only about half of them came up, and they seemed a little straggly.

Maybe it’s just because it’s their first year?  Perhaps I need to group them together as well and go for a little “patch” of snowdrops rather than a smattering here and there?  I do love them, and I hope that they will come back next year.

I got both the snowdrops (Galanthus Giant Snowdrop ‘Woronowii’) and the muscari (Grape Hyacinth Latifolium) from Easy To Grow Bulbs.  With both of them, only about half of the bulbs have actually come up.  I also ordered tulips from Easy To Grow Bulbs and they seem to be doing well…just this morning I saw some bulbs forming and I’ll be eager to see them open.

I am still waiting and hoping for success with the other bulbs I planted last fall:

Hyacinthoides hispanica Danube (WFF)
Narcissus Curlew (WFF)
Lilium Black Out (WFF)
Tulip Angelique (WFF) 

Japanese Iris Variegata (ETGB)

Tulip Queen of Night (ETGB)

Tulip Tangerine Beauty (ETGB)

Tulip Spring Green (ETGB)

Narcissus Accent (ETGB)


The tulips and daffodils are definitely on their way up, and I believe the Spanish Bluebells are too…I guess time will tell!

3 thoughts on “The Last of the Crocuses

  1. I only planted Saffron Crocuses last year, they bloom in October. You can collect the orange stamen it’s that expensive saffron herb used to flavor rice and latin cooking. I think I’m going to order a lot more for this fall.

    • I have had my eye on some fall-blooming crocuses! Anything to extend the color as long as possible. I knew that there were certain varieties that provided the saffron we use in cooking, but I’ve never known anyone who actually grew them! We love to cook, so this might be one to add the the list. Do you plant them in spring for fall blooms?

Leave a Reply

