Rufus with Window Box…

I am pleased that my window boxes have been doing well.  I recently took the geraniums from the back porch and put them into the window boxes to replace the million bells (which didn’t last more than a week – too hot when I planted them, I think, and they seemed delicate.)

The heliotrope continues to bloom and the sweet potato ivy is doing very well.  The geraniums survived the transplant and add a splash of color from behind the iron bars, as much as they can anyway.

This morning as I left for work I looked at the flowers and saw that someone was keeping watch:

Thanks, Rufus!  When I looked at the second window Telly, our Russian Blue rescue cat, was keeping watch there!  He wouldn’t stick around to be photographed, though.  Too bad – it was a cute scene.

Here are some more pictures and close ups of the flowers.  I hope I’ll still have a few more weeks of enjoying them, and I’m wondering – can I transplant the ivy and bring it inside over the winter?

 

2 thoughts on “Rufus with Window Box…

  1. Re: overwintering those Sweet Potato Vines…I am rooting cuttings of a darker leaved variety right now. It’s often easier to save a plant for the following season using a cutting than to bring the entire thing inside. It’s less space taken up, fewer pests and a greater chance of survival. A large annual immediately shows signs of unhappiness at being brought inside (lack of sun, lack of humidity), whereas a fresh cutting yearns to survive and continue growing. Coleus plants can be treated this way. I took Pelargonium cuttings today from the fancy leaved “Mrs. Pollock” variety, and some from the African Blue Basil. A few weeks ago I cut the Persian Shield for cuttings to overwinter.

    If it’s an annual you are very fond of and you have the space to start new pots, rooting cuttings can save money the following spring. The plants developing from cuttings may appreciate a vented plastic bag canopy supported by thin branches or chopsticks, helping to keep plastic off the foliage. This canopy preserves humidity within the home’s dry winter conditions. New young plants can be placed outside after May 15 following a period of hardening off. You feel proud of yourself to have kept a favorite going year after year.

    I think your windowboxes look smashing! The greenery makes the bars recede to the background instantly. Optical illusion…

  2. Thanks, Bev! So that’s how you do it! I have several plants to take cuttings from – good thing I have many little bud vases left over from the wedding – they’ll be perfect for starting them out.

    I’ll definitely do the sweet potato vine – I love it. I have some purple basil – can I do this with sage as well? Worth a try – the worst that can happen is it doesn’t work, right?

    It’s a little late, I think, but I’m putting bulbs in this week! Can’t wait to see them come up (I hope) next spring!

Leave a Reply

