A lovely shade garden…

I’ve been reconciling myself to the fact that the fig trees, as wonderful as they are, provide too much shade for me to have a yard full of peonies, roses, hydrangeas, and other sun-worshippers.

Fortunately, I’ve found numerous shade-loving plants that I am intrigued by and think might be nice additions to the shady areas around the perimeter of the yard…or even replace some of the sparse grass in some places.

Ellen over at GardenBytes has  some great photos of shade gardens (among many other gorgeous things!)  Check her out – her site is fantastic.

Here’s one of her shade garden photos that inspired me:

What a great combination of colors and textures and heights…I just love it.  Ellen, if you’re out there, I’d love to know what you’ve got planted here!

At a recent trip to the Brooklyn Botanic Garden, I spotted this little patch of blue that made my heart sing:

I just love it.   It really stands out next to the white and green.  (anyone know what that is, by the way?)

Here’s the close up:

Then my brain did the math…plumbaginoides?? Could this ‘Autumn Leadwort’ be one and the same as the Plumbago ground cover that likes shade?  I’m hoping so, because Bev, my gardening guru friend back home in PA,  might have some for me!!  It would make my heart sing to see these little blue flowers in my yard next year!

This weekend I’ll be heading to PA and Bev is sending me home with plants, hoses, seeds, screens, and all kinds of gardening goodies – how lucky am I?  I am tingling with excitement!

One thought on “A lovely shade garden…

  1. Yes Aimee! Your detective skills are correct. That is the Plumbago groundcover for dry shade (to half sun) and I do indeed have a pot waiting for you. It will spread reliably in all directions. The green and white annual next to it is Euphorbia marginata (or Snow on the Mountain, one of its many common names.) My E. marginatas self sow annually – related to Poinsettias. Milky sap may cause allergies, though.

    In Ellen’s photo above, I can see Hostas, annual Coleus (2 kinds) Jack Frost ‘Brunnera’ and annual Impatiens.

    PS. I love the cat photos on the nearby entry.

Leave a Reply

